Birthday Wishes to Tom Betty, my Father!

Namaste Well Wishers,

July 19th and it’s my Father – Tom Betty’s Birthday.

Wanted to send out warm Birthday Wishes for many Happy Returns!
May Good Health, much Laughter, Love and continued Inspiration for all Creative pursuits be with you today and always.

Dad is my first inspiration as an Artist. Growing up I recall him always snapping photos and then developing them in his own darkroom. The walls of our house were filled with black & white and colour photography from hiking adventures in the Rockies, nature shots of flowers, birds, sunsets, the changing colors of seasons, dear friends… all celebrating his love of nature and life.

Dad’s great at capturing people in their element. Many family friends’ walls are adorned with a treasured photo Dad has captured from a special time and moment in their lives. Dad would often surprise people with this amazing photo he’d taken and developed himself, complete with hand made wooden frame to highlight this 8×10 beauty.

Since retiring, Dad has combined his lifelong passion for birds and artistic talent and directed his energies towards bird carving. You would think that they are real. Imagine an Owl or a Kestrel Hawk looking right at you in the house!

It’s always wonderful to hear what Dad’s working on next. Sometimes it’s for a commission or a particular bird he’s decided to enter into a Competition and many a time it’s for a special Birthday, Anniversary or Christmas present.

Recently, Dad has been going through his photos and scanning them to his computer. I had the pleasure of looking through four CD’s worth of memories and with his permission I have included them on some of my cards for sale at Greeting Card Universe.

Below are a few examples of Dad’s photos and carvings to enjoy.

Here’s Happy July 19th wishes to All!
May all your Heartfelt Dreams come true!

About Sri Devi

Welcome to the Well Wishers Group Blog! Many interests and creative pursuits bring Kindness and Well Wishes to life through my Art, being a Waldorf Teacher, Vegetarian, Hatha Yoga Practitioner and Teacher, Reflexologist, Heart to Art Greeting Card Creator, New Moon Astrologist. I'm a seeker of peaceful and meaningful ways to connect with people, animals and nature, celebrating Beauty within and without. Best wishes always, all ways! Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Birthday Wishes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Wishes to Tom Betty, my Father!

  1. Salon of Art says:

    Hi Sri…There is no doubt I would enjoy getting to know your father! His carvings are so lifelike and he photography is just beautiful!

    My mother was never without her twin-lens-reflex when I was a kid (I have it now on display, one of my favorite treasures). And she worked in a professional darkroom for 30-years. I am an only child and when she passed 20-years-ago I received her lifetime of photos. Though I have not yet used any of moms photographs on my cards, they do find their place in my home and I certainly know where my photography ‘genes’ came from 🙂

    Doreen Erhardt
    http://www.facebook.com/SalonOfArt
    http://www.twitter.com/SalonOfArt
    http://salonofart.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

